top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
Writer's pictureAimee Gerlach

Wilderness and Conservation

I researched into the Southern Utah Wilderness Alliance. Specifically in the causes they are currently involved in. In the beginning I thought that turning over national parks to the state may be a good idea, but after reading their arguments I see why this would be problematic. The national government spends 280 million dollars regulating Utah's parks each year (What do they spend that on? I do not know) Utah would have to rely on high oil prices to maintain the parks. Tax payers would have to come up with up to 69 million dollars a year to offset the states deficit. More likely public land would be sold to private investors thus cutting off the public use of these areas. Outdoor recreation in Utah directly supports 122,000 Utah jobs an brings 12 billion dollars into Utah's economy. I am a supporter of National parks, forests, and wildernesses but if I had not researched what this land grab meant for the lands, I may have voted the other way out of ignorance. This was a good activity. I am going to research more.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page